It’s Okay To Wonder – The Joy of Avery Series


It’s Okay to Wonder is a story about Avery, a loquacious girl whose parents have decided to become foster parents. While Mom and Dad attend another foster training class, Avery shares with Nana and Pop her mixed-up feelings. She and her grandparents learn together what it might be like to become a foster family–that it’s okay to feel two emotions at the same time and that it’s okay to wonder!

The Joy of Avery series offers resources for foster care families and brings the world of foster care to life by exploring Avery’s feelings as her family welcomes foster children into their homes. It’s Okay to Wonder is the first book in the series.

Thoughts from a Reader

“I liked the shift from worry to wonder, and how that gives kids permission to wonder. I think it helps kids know that questions and wonders are normal, okay to talk about, and it’s not ‘wrong’ to wonder.”


Author: Rhonda Wagner
Additional Author: Illustrated by: Jim Lutz
ISBN: 978-1-63296-348-2
Count: 1
Other Resources